5 escapees surrender

THE five detainees who escaped from the Cebu Police Provincial Office (CPPO) surrendered to the Talisay City Police Station on Thursday dawn, April 16, 2020.

Police identified them as Lucio Llamedo, Marcelo Geronggay, Edjon Carbantes, Jorsua Burgos and Jave Pongcol. They were caught last March for their alleged imvolvement in illegal drug activities, but they were not transferred to the Cebu Provincial Detention and Rehabilitation Center in Barangay Kalunasan, Cebu City due to the threat of the coronavirus disease.

The detainees told the investigators that they decided to escape as there were police officers who mistreated them by not letting them eat on time, according to P/Maj. Gerard Ace Pelare, chief of Talisay police.

Police Regional Office 7 Director P/Brig. Gen. Albert Ignatius Ferro said the three CPPO officers who were on duty at the time of the prison break were placed inside the detention cell to let them feel what it felt to be like a detainee. They were released after 24 hours.

They were part of the seven detainees who escaped last Wednesday, April 15. Two of the detainees were apprehended just hours after their escape.

Pelare said a sibling of one of the detainees contacted them as he wanted wanted to surrender for fear of his life.

A team fetched the detainees in Nivel Hills in Barangay Lahug, Cebu City. He said the escapees surrendered in peace.

Ferro advised CPPO Director P/Col. Colonel Roderick Mariano to strengthen the CPPO’s detention facility and install two or three security cameras that can monitor the detainees.

The three police officers who were on duty during the escape have been relieved from their posts. Their weapons were confiscated as the investigation is ongoing.

Ferro said he will also investigate the accusation of the five detainees that they escaped because ofthe poor treatment they received from the police officers. (JCT & AYB)

Read More

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: